Hideous OpenSCAD problem caused by sticking mouse button

If only it were that simple. I think I’m going to have to learn Blender instead.

Every time I’ve tried to use OpenSCAD to rotate or move the 3D rendering of my modular raygun design recently, the screen has frozen. Not always instantly, but always within a minute or two of clicking and dragging. The computer is still working underneath, and I can open new explorer windows with Start-E, but I can’t do anything much else.

Ctrl-Alt-Delete ‘unsticks’ things, even if I choose ‘cancel’ from the taskmanager selections. And the things I’ve done in the openscad window since it froze, get done really fast in sequence just before the taskmanager runs. So something somewhere in an event queue is blocking.

I’ve had a couple of crash messages from Microsoft’s intellipoint, which I guess is the mouse management software. I never get system level crashes in Windows, so I’m not happy about this at all.

I’ve spent several days intermittently searching for solutions. One guy bought a separate laptop just to run OpenSCAD on, thinking there were bugs in one or more libraries.

I thought I had solved the problem. I thought it was caused by a sticking mouse button on my laptop. When I turned off the laptop’s trackpad and mouse buttons, and kept using the usb mouse, everything seemed to be fine again.

Except it isn’t. It was only lulling me into a false sense of triumph and smug satisfation. Grrr.

I’ve just spent too much time uninstalling various potentially conflicting versions of python. That didn’t help either.

So, as I said at the beginning, I think I’m going to have to learn to use Blender. Though I hate the user interface, and I hate the colour scheme even more. What is it with people who complain that black on white is “too bright” for their poor typing-in-the-dark eyes. So developers give us low-contrast grey-on-grey user interfaces that I can’t read! At least give us some easy choice in colour schemes.

OpenSCAD is simple and powerful and hopelessly broken on my machine. That reminds me of a classic 197os description of assembly language programs – “fast, small, efficient, and not quite finished yet, sorry”.

Having to learn Blender is very frustrating right now. Hopefully it will be empowering later on, if I last so long…

This entry was posted in 3d printing. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Hideous OpenSCAD problem caused by sticking mouse button

  1. Gary says:

    I looked at Blender’s manual, and agree with your ctiticism of their use of colors. The form-over-function interface designed by graphics artists ranks high in my list of web annoyances..

    There’s some relief available. Check out “Readability”. This provided me with a significant reduction in discomfort in reading Blender’s manual.

    • BrazenArtifice says:

      Yes, the manual is just as grey as the program’s user interface. The manual’s greyness would bother me more if I wasn’t already bothered enough by the program 🙂

Please leave a Reply

