Clarke’s 3rd Law and desktop fabrication

Arthur C. Clarke is an author famous for many things, including formulating a set of laws which includes “Any sufficiently advanced technology is indistinguishable from magic”.

At half-past midnight two nights ago, I saw a design for a 10mm spanner by Triffid Hunter on thingiverse. I have heaps of spanners, they symbolise something deeply “enabling”. You can build a motor with spanners. They are the machine-age equivalent of hammers.

I saw it, downloaded it, printed it, held it in my hand, used it on a bolt. In ten minutes.

Try convincing me that’s not magic!

It took me longer to photograph it and blog about it than build it.

3D printed Spanner from Thingiverse.com

The quality will get better as I spend more time tweaking instead of blogging.

This entry was posted in 3d printing, Objects and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Please leave a Reply

