My workspace for art and 3D printing

Especially for the ‘visually oriented’ here’s a post showing how I have my workspace organised. (I need it organised or I get very grumpy when I can’t find the tool I need.) Less words than usual, and a bunch of photos.

This is my Big Bench. I made it from slotted angle-iron (like up-sized meccano), bookshelving and a 6’x3′ piece of heavy plywood.

The storage shelves are from OfficeWorks, modified so they come all the way out and I can lay them on the desk. They mostly contain obsessively organised lego technic, and lots of art supplies.

Most of my smaller tools live in this corner.

This shot shows my toolboard. It’s just a piece of discarded construction plywood bolted to the angle-iron frame, with nails hammered in to act as supports for tools I use a lot, or don’t want damaged from bashing about in a toolbox.

View showing my construction bench, 3D printer and scroll saw

Facing out into nature, with the 3D printer and scroll saw to the right

Here you can’t see the hillside covered with Macadamia trees smothered in lantana and other weeds. Trust me, its there, its waiting.

The 3D printer is to the right of the window, next to the scroll saw. The small bookcase is full of electronic components stored in plastic fruit salad jars (except for the ICs, which are stored in anti-static foam, of course). On the shelf beneath the ex-highschool physics bench are heavier tools, my meccano box, and large drawings.

My laptop, op-shop acoustic guitar and electronics bench

The acoustic guitar cost me $20 in an op-shop. I tune it to Open D-minor, and haven’t got the hang of it yet, but its fun! The desk drawers have more electronics stuff in them. The monitor isn’t Apple, its a 10 year old Dell LCD which still works fine.

BC Rich Bitch guitar and Epiphone mandolin hanging by the door

BC Rich Bitch guitar and Epiphone mandolin

On the back wall hang my BC Rich Bitch electric guitar (yes, that really is what the manufacturer called it) and my Epiphone mandolin. I bought the Bitch in 1991, and the mandolin only 5 or so years ago. They are good for calming me down when things don’t work. Soothing sounds from the mando, angry screaming from the Bitch.

The corkboard next to the mandolin is covered in my favourite cards that I’ve received since about 1975. Under the folders is the bubblejet printer. Just out of shot to the left is a heavy steel linoprinting relief press that takes 12 inch square sheets.

So that’s a glimpse into what is around me as I work at getting my printer to make amazing things.

This entry was posted in 3d printing, Assembly and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to My workspace for art and 3D printing

  1. Paul Stevens says:

    We the ‘visually oriented’ thank you for your thoughtful posting, nice to see the setting for the grand endeavour, have been following your other posts and though the technical elements often swept past and were but barely tracked before disappearing from view, they had left an indelible impression of the challenges, frustrations, excitement and rewards of the build.
    Am impressed how quickly it has progressed even with the problem solving and detailed blog postings. Eagerly awaiting printing.

    Paul

    • BrazenArtifice says:

      Thanks Paul,
      I’ve just published a post showing my first 5 objects. >Now< Joy understands why this stuff excites me 🙂

  2. Paul Stevens says:

    Like the fire engine red. Nice to know Joy is sharing the excitement, red is an exciting colour, does it extrude faster?

    Paul

    • BrazenArtifice says:

      I’ve no idea how it compares with other colours for speed. I understand different colourants in the plastics can change the behaviour of the PLA – like changing it’s melting point.

      I printed a Tardis in red, because everyone who watched Doctor Who in black and white based their colour of the Tardis on their nearest wooden phone booth. In Ballina in the 1960s, that was bright post-office red.

Please leave a Reply

